Hi!

Hi!  I’m Jon Peterson and this is my blog.  I have a lot of different interests so I expect to post on many different subjects.  I’m very interested in photography and am trying to spend more time on it so photography (mainly nature/outdoor photography) will be a big focus.  However, there are many other subjects that will probably show up here including science, math, technology, space exploration, astronomy, science fiction and maybe even occasionally (shudder!) politics.

A little bit more about me.  I live in Minnesota and have lived here for about 26 years now.  I have been a software engineer for most of those 26 years, but I was recently laid off.  For now I’m trying to spend more time on my photography and getting my web site (www.jonpetersonphoto.com) up-to-date.

I grew up in central Wisconsin.  I got a Bachelor’s degree in computer science at the University of Wisconsin – Madison in 1984 and I’ve lived and worked in Minnesota ever since.  Even though my degree was in computer science and I’ve worked in that field ever since, I have always been very interested in science and mathematics.  I considered a major in physics, but eventually decided that it would be much easier to make a living as a computer programmer.

My interest in photography has waxed and waned over the years.  I’ve always been interested enough to make sure that I owned a decent camera.  However, in the last several years my interest has grown and I’ve gotten more serious about it.  The advent of digital photography has really improved the process of photography for me.  Being able to see my images essentially immediately and not having to worry about wasting expensive film on images that I’m not sure of is all very empowering.  Working with my images on the computer, a medium that I’m already very familiar and comfortable with, also makes the process much easier.  My current camera is a Nikon D200 with an assortment of lenses.  I also use a Bogen tripod.  I find that using a tripod helps me to slow down a little and think a bit more about the composition of my image before actually snapping the shutter.

I hope that gives you a little idea of who I am and what I hope this blog will be.  I intend to try to update the blog a couple times a week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment